Smashed
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 342

Smashed

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2006-01
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

A twenty-four-year-old survivor of alcoholism recounts her journey from teen experimentation to binge drinking, a process during which she endured depression, rage, sexual exploitation, and troubled relationships before making the decision to heal, in a personal memoir that also offers insight into youth alcohol abuse. Reprint.

Mother, Mother
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 382

Mother, Mother

The disturbing fate of a runaway older sister is gradually revealed in a tale told from the perspectives of the Hurst family, including a teen girl whose drug use has landed her in a mental ward, an autistic youth, an alcoholic father, and an insidiouslymanipulative mother.

Fury
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 352

Fury

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2010-09-07
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

Read Koren Zailckas's blogs and other content on the Penguin Community. The author of the iconic New York Times bestseller Smashed undertakes a quest to confront her own anger. In the years following the publication of her landmark memoir, Smashed: Story of a Drunken Girlhood, Koren Zailckas stays sober and relegates binge drinking to her past. But a psychological legacy of repression lingers-her sobriety is a loose surface layer atop a hard- packed, unacknowledged rage that wreaks havoc on Koren emotionally and professionally. When a failed relationship leads Koren back to her childhood home, she sinks into emotional crisis-writer's block, depression, anxiety. Only when she begins to apply ...

The Drama Teacher
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 400

The Drama Teacher

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2018-04-17
  • -
  • Publisher: Crown

None

Mother, Mother: Free Sampler
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 80

Mother, Mother: Free Sampler

FREE SAMPLER. An electrifying debut novel about what happens when the one who should love you the most becomes your worst enemy. Sure to appeal to fans of GONE GIRL, WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN and ROOM

The Art of Memoir
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 256

The Art of Memoir

Credited with sparking the current memoir explosion, Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club spent more than a year at the top of the New York Times list. She followed with two other smash bestsellers: Cherry and Lit, which were critical hits as well. For thirty years Karr has also taught the form, winning teaching prizes at Syracuse. (The writing program there produced such acclaimed authors as Cheryl Strayed, Keith Gessen, and Koren Zailckas.) In The Art of Memoir, she synthesizes her expertise as professor and therapy patient, writer and spiritual seeker, recovered alcoholic and “black belt sinner,” providing a unique window into the mechanics and art of the form that is as irreverent, insigh...

Drunk Mom
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 320

Drunk Mom

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2014-05-27
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

“An intense, complex and disturbing story, bravely and beautifully told. I read Drunk Mom with my jaw on the floor, which doesn’t happen to me that often." - Lena Dunham Three years after giving up drinking, Jowita Bydlowska found herself throwing back a glass of champagne like it was ginger ale. It was a special occasion: a party celebrating the birth of her first child. It also marked Bydlowska's immediate, full-blown return to crippling alcoholism. In the gritty and sometimes grimly comic tradition of the bestselling memoirs Lit by Mary Karr and Smashed by Koren Zailckas, Drunk Mom is Bydlowska's account of the ways substance abuse took control of her life- the binges and blackouts, the humiliations, the extraordinary risk-taking- as well as her fight toward recovery as a young mother. This courageous memoir brilliantly shines a light on the twisted logic of an addicted mind and the powerful, transformative love of one's child. Ultimately it gives hope, especially to those struggling in the same way.

Mother, Mother: Psychological suspense for fans of ROOM
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 364

Mother, Mother: Psychological suspense for fans of ROOM

An electrifying debut novel about what happens when the one who should love you the most becomes your worst enemy. Sure to appeal to fans of GONE GIRL and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN

Leaving Dirty Jersey
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 352

Leaving Dirty Jersey

With his nickname, Dirty Jersey, tattooed on the inside of his left forearm, James Salant wanted everyone to know he was a tough guy. At the age of eighteen, after one too many run-ins with the cops for drug possession, he left his upper-middle-class home in Princeton, New Jersey, for a stint at a rehab facility in Riverside, California. Instead of getting clean, he spent his year there shooting crystal meth and living as a petty criminal among not-so-petty ones until a near psychotic episode (among other things) convinced him to clean up. In stark prose infused with heartbreaking insight, wicked humor, and complete veracity, Salant provides graphic descriptions of life on crystal meth -- th...

Mother, mother
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 360

Mother, mother

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2014
  • -
  • Publisher: Unknown

None