Taoism and the Arts of China
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 415

Taoism and the Arts of China

  • Categories: Art

A celebration of Taoist art traces the influence of philosophy on the visual arts in China.

Shunga
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 312

Shunga

  • Categories: Art
  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2014-09-30
  • -
  • Publisher: Skira

A gorgeous presentation devoted to the art of Japanese eroticism, drawn from the Honolulu Museum of Art’s rare and distinguished collection. The Japanese paintings and prints called shunga (literally "spring pictures") reflected the thriving sexual culture of early modern Japan and depicted with sensitivity and nuance the private lives of various social types, from courtesans and Kabuki actors to ordinary townspeople. Organized around a series of exhibitions at the Honolulu Museum of Art, this sumptuous volume presents art from the museum’s vast holdings of ukiyo-e prints, woodblock-printed books, and paintings, particularly those originating from the collections of scholar Richard D. La...

Flag Burning
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 220

Flag Burning

Responses to flag burning as a particular form of street protest tend to polarize into two camps: one holding the view that action of this sort is constitutionally protected protest; the other, that it is subversive and criminal activity. In this well-researched and richly documented volume, Welch examines the collision of these ideologies, and shows the relevance of sociological concepts to a deeper understanding of such forms of protest. In exploring social control of political protest in the United States, this volume embarks on an in-depth examination of flag desecration and efforts to criminalize that particular form of dissent. It seeks to examine the sociological process facilitating ...

Burning the Flag
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 453

Burning the Flag

In 1989 a political fire storm erupted after the United States Supreme Court declared that dissidents had the constitutional right under the First Amendment to burn the flag. To some, including President George Bush and many members of Congress, the flag was a sacred symbol of American freedoms. They believed its physical destruction posed a serious threat to the country and demanded a constitutional amendment to reverse the Court's decision. For those who defended the Court's ruling, flag desecration was a form of constitutionally protected free speech, and any attempt to forbid such conduct was seen as creating a dangerous precedent. Burning the Flag brings together the disciplines of law,...

Flowers, Dragons & Pine Trees
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 312

Flowers, Dragons & Pine Trees

  • Categories: Art

Written for both specialist and general audiences, this stunning volume places new research within a comprehensive socio-historic context, including information on technique, production, iconography, function, patronage, and trade. Five maps, a glossary

The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 1234

The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2015-04-10
  • -
  • Publisher: Routledge

Driven by the growing reality of international terrorism, the threats to civil liberties and individual rights in America are greater today than at any time since the McCarthy era in the 1950s. At this critical time when individual freedoms are being weighed against the need for increased security, this exhaustive three-volume set provides the most detailed coverage of contemporary and historical issues relating to basic rights covered in the United States Constitution. The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America examines the history and hotly contested debates surrounding the concept and practice of civil liberties. It provides detailed history of court cases, events, Constitutional amen...

Goddesses in World Culture
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 933

Goddesses in World Culture

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2011
  • -
  • Publisher: ABC-CLIO

This collection of accessible essays relates the stories of individual goddesses from around the world, exploring their roles in the cultures from which they came, their histories and status today, and the controversies surrounding them. * 63 essays cover more than 100 goddesses and goddess-like figures from world culture, with volumes organized by geographic area * Many original translations of prayers, sagas, and other sources not otherwise readily available in English * 60 illustrations include ethnographic photographs, depictions of ancient artifacts, and original artwork * An extensive list of bibliography of sources about the figure and culture discussed accompanies each essay

Modern Chinese Religion I (2 vol.set)
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 1716

Modern Chinese Religion I (2 vol.set)

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2014-12-08
  • -
  • Publisher: BRILL

Defining religion as “value systems in practice”, Modern Chinese Religion is a multi-disciplinary work that shows the processes of rationalization and interiorization at work in the rituals, self-cultivation practices, thought, and iconography of Buddhism, Daoism, and Confucianism in the 10th-14th centuries.

Just Silences
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 224

Just Silences

  • Categories: Law

Is the Miranda warning, which lets an accused know of the right to remain silent, more about procedural fairness or about the conventions of speech acts and silences? Do U.S. laws about Native Americans violate the preferred or traditional "silence" of the peoples whose religions and languages they aim to "protect" and "preserve"? In Just Silences, Marianne Constable draws on such examples to explore what is at stake in modern law: a potentially new silence as to justice. Grounding her claims about modern law in rhetorical analyses of U.S. law and legal texts and locating those claims within the tradition of Nietzsche, Heidegger, and Foucault, Constable asks what we are to make of silences i...

Loyalty
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 211

Loyalty

This book is an important contribution to the public debate on morality, politics, and the law, and is unique in its exploration of loyalty and its role in our personal and national identity.